Reading through Justin Lewis-Anthony’s You are the Messiah and I Should: Why Leadership is a Myth (and Probably a Heresy) , I came across a startling quote from former Archbishop George Carey. When asked about his leadership style, Carey responded,

“People have described me as a ‘management bishop’, but I say to my critics: ‘Jesus was a management expert too.”

And we now are seeing some heated debates over a proposed baptismal rite that omits mention of the devil.

When Jesus becomes the CEO and the church becomes a managerial institution, what need is there for the devil? Can he not, like any business problem, be streamlined away by “creating efficiencies” or “removing redundancies,” and other business-based solutions?  Is not the fervor over the new experimental rite but a logical consequence of a managerial church?

