Our parish has begun a book study on Richard Rohr’s latest book, Falling Upward: A Spirituality for the Two Halves of Life. At first I was a little skeptical, my only experience of Rohr having been unfortunately mediated through New Age kitsch. But, as it turns out, the book isn’t all that bad.

From the introduction, it struck me that Rohr might be reading a bit of Radical Orthodoxy. This bit reminded me of the feeling I had when I first read Radical Orthodoxy: A New Theology:

True religion is always a deep intuition that we are already participating in something very good, in spite of our best efforts to deny it or avoid it. In fact, the best modern theology is revealing a strong “turn toward participation,” as opposed to religion as mere observation, affirmation, moralism, or group belonging. There is nothing to join, only something to recognize, suffer, and enjoy as a participant. You are already in the eternal flow that Christians would call the divine life of the Trinity (x-xi).

 

