I finally picked up a copy of McCabe’s The New Creation. While doing a quick skim before I fully immerse myself, I came across this passage:

“Traditional Catholicism is in full agreement with the Reformers’ doctrine that there is but one priesthood in the Christian Church, that of Christ himself. We go on to say that it is possible to speak, nevertheless, as St. Peter does, of the priesthood of the Church. This is not something alongside or additional to Christ’s priesthood, it is our sharing in it. It belongs to the fullness of his priestly power that we should be able to participate in it. We touch here on a deep point of difference between the Catholic and the Reformed traditions. To the Reformers it always seemed that to attribute to man as his own was to derogate from what belongs to God. For the Church to claim to have divine life or the power of the priesthood as its own life and power is to deny that everything is absolutely and entirely from God. To the Catholic, on the other hand, it seems to say that God can only make creatures who are passive before him is to lessen his divine dignity; it belongs to God and to God alone, who is closer to me than I am to myself, that his activity can be mine without ceasing to be his” (142).

Herbert McCabe, The New Creation

