I stole this quote from the Don Furnaloni blog. Given that it aligns with a lot of what our community is going through and is in desperate need of hearing, I decided to post.

From Rowan Williams’ Isaiah Berlin Lecture: “Faith and Enlightenment: Friends of Foes?”

“What if the unity we are looking for in society is not realising an abstract ideal, a supreme ideal in which everything desirable is contained, what if it’s a condition in which person is fully cognisant of what is needed for each specific neighbour’s welfare and each person is committed to make that possible? That, I think, is not to measure social achievement against an ideal embodiment of some supreme good (freedom, equality and so on) it’s to think critically about it in the light of what the maximal welfare of each citizen, within the constraints of the life we share, potentially competing needs and finite resources, what the maximum welfare of each might look like. It is also to assume a shared willingness to bracket out any fantasies of what would maximally fulfil my wishes as an individual and to allow those to be overridden by the vision of a possible common good equally owned by myself and my neighbour. For each social agent, the sacrifice that may entail is made bearable by the confidence the whole interlocking pattern of social relations will secure attention to my interest in the same terms as I give attention to the neighbour’s interests. So what I’m outlining is a social unity or harmony, not in terms of realising a single ideal, but in terms of a mutuality of care and attention, as the cement of a society that can last and can claim to be just.”

