“I can render this homage only if reflection enables me to discover in myself, beneath the appearance of servitude, a natural consent that mediates between pure necessity and freedom in the strict sense, an original assent springing from being itself, which the entire role of my free will is to ratify, whatever the cost…  In a word, my entire moral life depends on the fact that the Being that gives me being is not a tyrant, that there is something in me that responds to his call, even more, that this call comes from that deep region which is more mine even than myself.  In other words, everything depends on my being able to see, or at least glimpse obscurely, the pure Love that lives behind the figure of the absolute Master.”

~ Henri de Lubac, quoted in David Grumett’s: de Lubac: A guide for the perplexed.

