I’ve started reading Milbank’s “Sophiology and Theurgy: The New Theological Horizon” and one of my first reflections on the text comes from something that crossed my mind in an undergraduate Medieval Philosophy class.

We were reading St. Augustine’s De Trinitate and his constant examples of triadic structures which mirror the relations between Father, Son and Spirit.  When I was taking that class I must have been taking some New Testament classes because I kept wondering about the ancient theme of Sophia.  I even remember asking our great Professor (who is also an Eckhart scholar), “why doesn’t St. Augustine talk about Wisdom, or why focus on only 3 persons given that Sophia seems to play some substantial role in the Bible?”

I only bring this up because it’s interesting to reflect back on where one once was and how a current text can trigger memories.  To get back to Milbank, he notes how this entire issue is in fact addressed by the Russian sophiological tradition.  They were willing to address “the under-explored matrix of material in the Bible concerning wisdom.”   And far from seeing this as gnostic or pagan, they were in fact remaining true to Orthodoxy because “the narratives and symbols of the Bible and liturgy always contain a surplus of meaning, not yet done justice to.”  As such, “orthodoxy is always an unfinished task.”

